Kiwi television

Television was introduced to New Zealand in 1960 when the government launched its own single black and white channel (now known as TV One). Privately-owned television began in 1975 when South Pacific Television launched the country's second channel (now known as TV2).

As well as its analogue network, three forms of broadcast digital television exist in New Zealand. These are:

Satellite services provided nationwide by both Freeview and Sky
A terrestrial service provided in the main centres by Freeview
A cable service available in Wellington and Christchurch from TelstraClear.

SKY TV launched the first nationwide digital service in 1998 and had a monopoly on digital satellite services until the launch of Freeview's nationwide digital Satellite service in 2007.

The Freeview terrestrial service, branded Freeview HD, a high definition digital terrestrial television service, launched in 2008. The service serves areas surrounding Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Napier-Hastings, Palmerston North, Wellington, Christchurch, and Dunedin.

Digital cable television operates in Wellington and Christchurch on TelstraClear's cable TV system. High Definition programming is available only from Freeview on terrestrial broadcast and on SKY TV through the MY SKY HDi decoder.

A limited range of channels are available in High Definition.

See Also Best and Worst TV Ads